Red Velvet Cake

I discovered Red Velvet cake this year and have since been hooked! People love the bright red colour and the ultra moist cake. There is some debate about where it originated according to Wikipedia.

This recipe is the only one I’ve tried, it really is a great cake. I’ve made it with buttercream frosting, chocolate fudge frosting and also the traditional cream cheese frosting.

This version is from the Food Network site. See the recipe here.

The cake is pretty foolproof, I don’t modify the recipe at all. It works in two tins or three, and is perfectly done in 30 minutes. I modified the colours for my husband’s America-themed birthday party in July. Make sure you ice the whole cake so no one can see what is inside until it’s cut!

Red Velvet Cake - 4th July style

Published in: Uncategorized on August 26, 2007 at 10:34 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMG …. I soooo want to try this again … you have inspired me … each time I try this cake it never works for me …. I’m going to try your recipe Hun!

  2. I LOVE YO FOURTH OF JULY CAKE IT LOOK SO GOOD N I WANNA JUS EAT IT!!!!! OMGGGSHHH MMMMMMMMM;D


Leave a Reply

