Carrot Cupcakes

I made these for my friend Leonie’s baby shower. I didn’t use my usual, foolproof old recipe; I tried something different — “Church Picnic Carrot Cupcakes” from The Crabapple Bakery Cupcake Cookbook. To make them Leonie-friendly, I used gluten-free, self-raising flour. I really couldn’t tell, taste-wise, once they were cooked. The recipe handled the gluten-free flour well, so I definitely recommend it in that respect. The flavour was strongly influenced by the orange and lemon rind, even though I used half the recommended amount. The cinnamon taste wasn’t as strong. Like the cookbook says, a nice cupcake if you are after something not so sweet.

carrot_cooked.jpg

The recipe says it makes 24 cupcakes; I ended up with 48! I think you would need more of a Texas-sized pan or muffin pan to get only 24 cupcakes. I froze half the cakes and will update on how they survived.

carrot_eaten.jpg

 I iced them with vanilla buttercream frosting, instead of cream cheese as suggested. The “carrots” I made with fondant. They were my first venture into playing with icing. Once I have some more tools, I can really have fun with it! I used fondant made by Orchard. Click here to see the Orchard range.

carrots_box.jpg

Published in: Uncategorized on September 8, 2007 at 7:32 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/09/08/carrot-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They are adoreable!!! You should make them for easter too!!!

  2. Light and fluffy and oh so tasty, Katies carrot cupcakes were brought to the office, courtesy of Haki, and all you could hear were murmerings of “yummmm”.
    Impressed? Yes, of course!

  3. Light and fluffy and oh so tasty. Thank you Haki for introducing the office to Katie’s carrot cupcakes. How soon can we put an order in?

  4. yours are so cute!
    i made some today, without icing, and used macadamia nuts, and omitted the zest

    so moist & yummy :O)

    • Macadamia nuts sound good!

      ~K


Leave a Reply

