Jo’s Pumpkin Damper

This recipe was given to me by my good friend Leonie’s mum, Jo. It’s simple but so yummy! In fact, I think my dad is in love with this more than anything I have ever baked (although he has never disliked anything I’ve made). The mixture can be cooked in a loaf tin, on a baking tray or in a muffin tray (my favourite) for pumpkin cupcakes.

The recipe requires butternut pumpkin, which is known as butternut squash in other parts of the world. I don’t think it needs anything on top, but I may experiment with a topping another time. Leonie tells me it’s great with butter!

The consistency of the damper is cake-like, and the taste is not too sweet and not too savoury — Perfect for afternoon tea. It’s also gluten-free friendly when you use gluten-free, self-raising flour.

 Thank you Jo for the recipe!

pumpkin_cupcake.jpg

Jo’s Pumpkin Damper

1/2 cup sugar (whichever type you like — I use castor)
2 tablespoons butter or margarine (I use unsalted/salt-reduced butter)
1 cup mashed butternut pumpkin/squash, cooled
2 eggs, beaten with a fork
2 cups self-raising flour
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius/355 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mix sugar and butter with a fork until creamy.

Add mashed pumpkin, stir through. Add beaten eggs.

Fold in flour, a little at a time.

Add a pinch of salt.

Pour into a loaf tin or cupcake tray.

Bake 30 minutes in a loaf tin or baking tray or 15 minutes in cupcake/muffin tray.

Published in: Uncategorized on September 20, 2007 at 10:29 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/jos-pumpkin-damper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the pumpkin cupcakes! I’m making them with the Japanese pumpkin for Halloween on the Gold Coast.

  2. Hi, I made this damper with gluten free flour & added fried onion & garlic. I put it on a slice tray not knowing how the G/F flour would go in a loaf tin as G/F bread is always a smaller loaf. It worked out fine, was about 3cm deep & cooked in the specified time! & tasted fabulous, my boyfriend & I ate 1/2 the loaf buttered while still warm for afternoon tea by the beach! Cheers Heather

    • Hi Heather, I’m glad it worked out well for you. I think it’s time I made another batch!

      ~K

  3. I have a 2 year old who wont eat veggies and she loved it! Thanks


Leave a Reply

