Chocolate Cupcakes with Pink-coloured Vanilla Buttercream

Today I made another recipe from The Crabapple Bakery Cupcake Cookbook. This is the first cupcake from the book I haven’t liked. The cake itself is quite moist, dark but not heavy. That part I liked.

dino_uncooked.jpg

The recipe calls for three tablespoons of instant coffee and the coffee flavour comes through too much for my liking. Cake taster number two – my husband – loved them however. I’m not a coffee drinker so I may be more sensitive to the taste of coffee. I may try the recipe again, next time without the coffee. Yet again, I ended up with about 48 cupcakes. I prefer this chocolate cupcake recipe even though it’s a lighter, less rich cake. I did use gluten-free flour as these cupcakes are to be for Leonie in celebration of the arrival of her first baby, a daughter named Lily. I will decorate some in pretty pink colours for Leonie later on, meanwhile I had a chance to play with my piping bag and tip number 96.

dino_cu.jpg 

I have a fair way to go with my cake decorating, but it’s fun so far! This is vanilla buttercream icing, with Queen “Pillar Box Red” food colouring and a hint of Queen “Black” food colouring.

dino_3.jpg

Published in: Uncategorized on October 5, 2007 at 5:02 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/10/05/chocolate-cupcakes-with-pink-coloured-vanilla-buttercream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. these look amazing Katie!!!! can we come to yours for afternoon tea!!!! xoxoxo

  2. Hi Katie,

    With both the choc mud cupcakes out of this book – I found that they made 48. One trick I found was to let the mix cool a while longer to thicken up. And then make all the cupcakes, but all bar what will be eaten that day in the freezer and then voila! Tasty treat for another day. They freeze and defrost really well.

    Cheers,
    Amy

    (i’m making one recipe out of that a week, skipping the ones I dont’ think Boy and I will like. Church Picnic Carrot Cakes are our favourite so far.)

  3. Hi Amy,

    Thanks for the tips! I like the carrot cakes also, just plain and slightly warm. The humingbird cupcakes have been the biggest hit with other people so far. Hubby took 20 of them to work the other week and they went like lightning!
    Let me know how you go with the rest of the book!

    ~K


Leave a Reply

