Gluten-free Vanilla Cupcakes

I really wasn’t happy with the chocolate cupcakes I recently baked for Leonie so I went back to my basic vanilla cupcake recipe. I used gluten-free self-raising flour. The cupcakes have quite a round top, filling the patty cases somewhere between half and three-quarters full seems to work best for a nice rise to the cake without “muffin top”. I find these cook in 18 minutes in my oven so be sure to check on the cakes as they cook.

pink_cupcakes.jpg

 Here’s the recipe, as I have posted before:

Vanilla Cupcakes
From: 500 Cupcakes ed Fergal Connolly

225g/8oz unsalted butter, softened
225g/8oz caster sugar
225g/8oz self raising flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
 (extract)

Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius/350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place all the ingredients in a medium bowl and beat with electric beaters until smooth and pale, about 2 to 3 minutes.

Spoon mixture into 18 patty cases. Bake for 20 minutes.

Remove trays from oven and cool 5 minutes. Then remove the cupcakes and cool on a rack.

Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days, or freeze for up to 3 months.

pink_cupcakes_box.jpg

A handy way to give baking as a present is to include the container in the gift!

Welcome to the world Lily!

Published in: Uncategorized on October 7, 2007 at 9:19 pm  Comments (33)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/10/07/gluten-free-vanilla-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So what makes this gluten free? you use flower in the recipe

  2. I make this recipe gluten-free by using White Wings Gluten-Free Self-Raising Flour Mix. The word flour is used to describe a ground edible material – usually wheat. As wheat flour contains gluten, I replace it with gluten-free flour which is made from rice flour and maize (corn) flour among other ingredients.

  3. These look gorgeous! What types of gluten free flour are included in your mix?

  4. White Wings Gluten-Free Self-Raising Flour Mix contains Starch (maize, tapioca, potato) rice flour, Vegetable gum (464), raising agents (sodium bicarbonate, 450), salt.

  5. hi! i`m writting from peru, i wanna know if you have a special receipe for the mix you put over cupcakes
    thanks!

  6. What gluten-free food coloring did you use to make the icing? I’ve been trying to find some.

  7. I use “Queen” brand of food colouring mostly, their website claims the colours contain “no allergens”.

  8. The icing I make is whipped butter, icing sugar, vanilla extract and food colouring.

  9. I found ‘Doves-Farm’ Self Raising Flour works well. If you want a level cupcake without muffin top it is best using a desert spoonful of mixture per cupcake so the mixture is half to third full. Any more and they will not cook well and will spread over the top.

  10. That was Gluten-Free Doves Farm Self Raising Flour

  11. These look beautiful! I might have to try these for the Holidays 🙂

  12. very nice recepies….I will try some of them….

  13. These look amazing. The colours are great but I love pink anyway. Which icing do you think is better buttercream or royal? I keep using buttercream on my cupcakes but don’t get exactly what I want most of the time. I am getting a new Wilton 50 piece tool caddy set soon which will hopefully help. Great cupcakes!

  14. Hi Amy,

    I always use buttercream icing – although I don’t use an exact recipe. I start with 250grams of butter (about 2 sticks), beat it with vanilla extract (about 2 teaspoons) and then add icing sugar mixture until I’m happy. I’ve seen some recipes that ask for 250grams butter and 1 cup icing sugar, and another 400grams butter and 8 cups of icing sugar!
    Have fun with the new toys!
    K

  15. I’ve found that when baking gluten / wheat free my recipes battle to rise (even after adding Baking Powder). Please advise.

    • Hi Michelle,

      Failure to rise is a common issue with gluten-free baking. My good friend Leonie has this problem quite often with her gluten-free baking!

      I’m afraid some recipes don’t convert well to a gluten-free variety, but I can’t yet tell which recipes will work without trying them out. My basic vanilla cupcake recipe worked, red velvet cupcakes did not. Pumkpin and sweet potato scones were fine, pikelets (mini pancakes) were ok too.

      What type of flour do you use?

      ~K

  16. Spelt Flour works wonders and makes them slightly more dense but still fluffy its Fantastic!!

    • Thanks Jamie!

      I’ll add spelt flour to my list of ingredients to try.

      Cheers
      ~K

  17. I love this recipe but I did beat butter and sugar then add eggs then flour. I made them in 2 batches, first batch didn’t hold there shape and over flowed. 2nd batch I added Xanthum gum and they are perfect. I also use White Wings flour.

    • I will have to make this recipe again soon Jenny. How much Xanthum did you use?
      ~K

  18. hello
    Do you have a mud cake recipe using white wings gluten free flours?
    If so, are you able to share that with me?

    thank you
    Alicia

    • Hi Alicia,

      I haven’t made GF mud cake before. I would think you could use any mud cake recipe and substitute the White Wings GF flour mix. Mud cakes usually have only a little flour.

      Or, you could make a flourless chocolate cake/cupcakes. Here is the recipe I’ve used:

      Flourless Chocolate Cakes
      (from Donna Hay’s Modern Classics Book 2)

      180 grams (6 oz.) cold unsalted butter, chopped
      220 grams (7 1/2 oz.) quality dark cooking chocolate, chopped (I used 70% Lindt)
      1 1/4 cups caster (superfine) sugar
      3/4 cup almond meal (crushed fine almonds)
      1 cup cocoa powder, sifted
      5 eggs

      Preheat the oven to 140C (280F).
      Place the butter, chocolate and sugar in a saucepan over low heat and stir until melted and smooth.
      Place the almond meal and cocoa powder in a bowl and whisk in the chocolate mixture.
      Add the eggs gradually, whisking until well-combined.
      Grease 12 x 1/2 cup (4 fl. oz) capacity non-stick muffin tins. (I lined my muffin tins with paper cups)
      Spoon in the mixture and bake for 3o minutes or until firm.
      Allow to cool in the tins.
      Serve with thick double cream or chocolate glaze and fresh berries if desired.
      Makes 12.

      ~K

  19. So how many cupcakes does it make? you don’t say.

    • The directions say divide the mixture between 18 cupcake liners. This will depend on how large yours are.
      ~K

  20. I plan to try your cup cake recipe soon. 🙂
    Thought I should mention, to the lady who suggested Spelt flour, it’s not gluten-free. cheers, Jan

  21. these are fabulous so easy to make , taste normal no one can tell that they are gluten free! i used organ brand self raising gluten free flour. i also halved the mix to make less and accidently still used 4 eggs made no difference they rose really well

    • Hi Virginia,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed!
      ~K

  22. I’ve just made a batch of cupcakes using gluten free self raising flour to your recipie, and they’ve turned out brilliantly! Very tasty, so thankyou! I was very worried for a minute there.

  23. […] Gluten Free Vanilla Cupcakes Taken from Katie’s Kitchen […]

  24. Hi, I made these last night using White Wings GF self raising flour, came out great. I made half a batch. 3 of the 9 cupcakes I made plain and then after putting the mixture in those 3 cupcakes holders, I mixed some defrosted raspberries through the remaining mixture. They came out great too (although next time I will just put the mixture in all cupcake holders and then press some of the raspberries in the top as the raspberries did sink a bit and it made them a little fragile on the bottom). Still tasted nice though. My little girl who is 6 with Coeliacs loved them. I will use your recipe a base for cupcakes now and experiment with adding other things. Thanks so much for sharing with us 🙂

    • Hi Allison,
      I’m so glad they were a success for you!
      Happy baking
      ~K

  25. I forgot to mention I live in Australia 🙂

  26. I gave these a go. They came out great using Orgran self raising flour. very tasty.


Leave a Reply

