Hummingbird Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Fruity and very moist, these cupcakes are delicious! Some people say the cake got it’s name from:

“…the sweetness, which is supposed to be reminiscent of the sweet liquid that attracts hummingbirds to their feeders.”

while others say:

“This southern classic takes its name from the fact that it tastes so good, you’ll ‘hum’ when you eat it.”

The recipe is another from The Crabapple Bakery Cupcake Cookbook; I halved the amounts again. I made 16 cupcakes, using pineapple I crushed into pieces myself. I omitted the ginger, as I didn’t have any on hand. It’s an easy one-bowl recipe that cooks in about 20 minutes. Hummingbird cakes are usually topped with cream cheese frosting and coconut. This is the first time I have baked or eaten hummingbird cake,  so I can’t compare the recipe to others for the same dessert.

hum_lots.jpg

hum_plate.jpg

I packaged four cupcakes in a Wilton box to give to my cousin tomorrow as a small thank-you gift, we’ll see what she thinks of them!

hum_open.jpg

hum_closed.jpg

Purchase Wilton cupcake boxes here for US customers. Purchase smaller Wilton boxes here for Australian customers.

Published in: Uncategorized on November 15, 2007 at 9:47 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/11/15/hummingbird-cupcakes-with-cream-cheese-frosting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

