Cupcakes gone wrong

Update: I think the problem of the not-right cupcakes was that I was overfilling the cupcake patties. Dilemma solved!

Yes, sometimes baking goes wrong in Katie’s Kitchen. Sometimes, for reasons unknown! My mission was to make gluten-free cupcakes and regular cupcakes for my cupcake-themed 27th birthday party. In attempt one at these gluten-free vanilla cupcakes, I forgot to add the baking powder. I ended up with an un-risen mess of half-baked cupcakes.

In attempt two, all was going well, or so I thought, until I went to get them from the oven and found the cupcakes again were an un-risen mess! I knew I had added all the ingredients this time so I was baffled. I gave up on making gluten-free cupcakes, my gluten-intolerant friend Leonie would have to have store-bought gluten-free chocolate biscuits instead. 

I tried making another batch of the cupcakes, this time with self-raising wheat flour. Still no good! The cupcakes didn’t rise properly and some spilt over the edge of the pan. Off to the store I went to get fresh eggs, baking powder and self-raising flour, with three hours to go until my guests were to arrive.

No more trying to make vanilla cupcakes this time, I went straight to my trusty Crabapple Bakery Cupcake Cookbook and made white chocolate cupcakes. Success! No disasters this time, they all rose well. I didn’t halve the ingredients this time, I made the full recipe – and ended up with about 40 cupcakes.

Some of the cakes were used in a cupcake decorating contest at my birthday party, some cupcakes were eaten at my good friend Michelle’s baby shower, and some cupcakes are now iced in pink buttercream frosting, ready to be taken to my co-workers tomorrow.

The aftermath of the cupcake decorating contest at my 27th birthday party

(yes it was a cupcake-themed party)

This is Michelle’s niece stealing the Jaffas and M&Ms from the tops of the white chocolate cupcakes at the baby shower

Pink buttercream frosting on top of the white chocolate cakes for my co-workers.

Published in: Uncategorized on May 26, 2008 at 10:11 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Katie,

    Good thing about you, you don’t panic. If I were in your shoes, I just cannot imagine how I would act! Hahaha…

    Regards,
    MamaFaMi


Leave a Reply

