Vegan Coconut Cupcakes

I love coconut. I love these cupcakes. I want another! I found the recipe posted on a fashion message board, of all places. The recipe is by Bethenny Frankel. My version is almost 100% vegan. I used margarine (instead of vegan shortening) which does contain a small amount of dairy (listed as milk solids).

The recipe calls for vegan shortening. In Australia, a common type of vegetable shortening is Copha. That’s right, the stuff most of  us only ever use to make the childhood favourite chocolate crackles. Does anyone use Copha for anything else? I’d love to know! Copha is basically hydrogenated coconut oil. In other words, saturated fat galore.

*I used Meadow Lea margarine, which is made from vegetable oils — including canola oil — and a great deal less saturated fat. It’s not health food by any means, but I felt more comfortable baking with margarine over Copha. I’m sure butter would also work (but then it’s bye bye vegan!).
*I used plain wheat flour instead of oat flour.
*I couldn’t get coconut extract easily, so I settled for coconut essence. I wasn’t disappointed, the cake has a nice coconut flavour.
*I got about 11 cupcakes from the batter. Next time I may squeeze it out to 12.
*I halved the ingredients for the icing and still had enough to cover all of my cupcakes.

These cupcakes were very easy to make and took about 20 minutes to bake. Don’t expect the baked product to have the same consistency as cupcakes containing egg. I ate my cupcake while it was still a little warm.

Published in: Uncategorized on June 8, 2009 at 4:13 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2009/06/08/vegan-coconut-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They look super cute!

    Nuttelex is a brand of margarine that’s completely vegan and available at a lot of Aussie supermarkets.

    I have used Copha for vegan baking in the past, but just picked up some less processed coconut oil from my favourite health food shop. I love it! It’s expensive, though, so I’m rationing it out in my baking. 🙂

  2. Thanks Cindy!

    Have you made these cupcakes before?

    ~K

  3. No I haven’t… but I’m now putting them on my list of things to try. 🙂

    I’ve got quite a few vegan friends to cook for and have recently got rather keen on coconut so this is suits me to a T!

  4. Hi Katie,
    Love your blog. You were the push factor that got me to buy the Crabapple Bakery Cookbook. It is so inspiring. I do have a problem though. I can’t figure out why my cupcakes won’t stick to the cupcake liner; tend to open up after a day. The other problem is that the top of the cupcake also gets damp the next day. Can you give me some tips? I used the vanilla cupcake recipe from the book.

    Thank you in advance,
    Sandra.

  5. Hi Sandra,

    I’m glad you like the book, it’s a shame the Bakery has closed.
    Have you tried a different brand of cupcake liners? I have found they weren’t all created equal! I like to use paper inside of foil liners for heavier cupcakes.

    Are the cupcakes inedible the next day? Or just sticky on top?

    ~K

  6. I love these coconut cupcakes, they look delicious. They remind me of a hot summers day sipping on a pina colada!

    I’m not sure but is the crabapple cupcakes and supplies the same as crabapple bakery?

    http://www.crabapplecupcakesupplies.com.au/index.html

    I was there not long ago and tried there white chocolate mud cupcakes, nice!

  7. Hi Maria,

    Yes, it’s the same Crabapple! Thanks for commenting.

    Let me know if you make the cupcakes, I’ve made about six batches in three weeks!

    ~K


Leave a Reply

