Red Velvet Cupcakes

I used my regular recipe but reduced the oil content. The last few times I’ve made red velvet cupcakes the oil has seemed to settle in the bottom of the cupcakes and left an unpleasant aftertaste. Official Cupcake Tester aka hubby said the aftertaste problem was gone but they were not quite velvety enough so next time I’ll use 1 and 1/4 cups of oil. The recipe makes 24 cupcakes and they cooked in about 24 minutes. The cream cheese frosting recipe can be found here. Four cupcakes were given to my friend Sybella who started a brand new job today (we will miss you!), eleven went to hubby’s friends for their regular Monday night football get-together, a couple were sacrificed for taste testing and the rest went to my Dad and Nanna. I didn’t have one. I really do like the making more than the eating for some treats. Unless it’s chocolatey of course.

Published in: Uncategorized on September 21, 2010 at 7:21 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/red-velvet-cupcakes-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey honey I ❤ you blog and the recipies you put up. In remedy to your oil issue try some full fat sour cream. It gives the rich dense-ness like the oil does and keeps it heavy and moist but its slightly better for your heart. Use the same amount as the oil. Or go half half 🙂

    • Hi Miss Em,

      I’ve never thought to use sour cream! Thanks for the suggestion.
      ~K

  2. Let me know how you go next time you make them 🙂 Ill pop a picture up on my blog when I make mine next so you can see texture and stuff 😀


Leave a Reply

