Look What I Made: Granny Stripe Blanket

It’s two years since I was taught to crochet. Not long after my first lesson, I started working on granny squares and granny-square blankets. The first squares I made ended up being donated. The giant granny-square blanket for our couch was started around Easter 2009 and it is about 80% finished and living on our couch. The wool granny-square blanket I started last year is waiting for me to add its border. The baby blanket I started on Valentine’s Day 2010 is about two-thirds done. The top-secret ripple blanket I’m working on is also about two-thirds done and needs to be finished in about four months. Meanwhile, the rainbow granny-stripe blanket I started in January is now finished – the first blanket I’ve actually completed. As much as I love the making aspect of craft and baking, sometimes the “done” feeling is even better.

This blanket came from my recent obsession with rainbows. I wanted a (relatively) quick project but was tired of squares. Lucy from Attic 24 has a great explanation of how to make your own granny-stripe blanket. It measures about 90cm x 100cm. It’s yet to find a home but I’m confident I’ll eventually figure out where it belongs. I’m trying hard to get a few projects done before starting any more but, as always, it’s proving difficult not to embark on a new crafty adventure.

Published in: on May 5, 2011 at 11:06 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/look-what-i-made-granny-stripe-blanket/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. what type yarn did you sue for granny stripe,cotton?and i love the ripple blanket behind rufus,did you post pattern?

  2. Hi! I know this is an old thread but I LOVE this rainbow granny stripe! I was hoping you could tell me how many balls of yarn you used. I’ve never worked with this brand of yarn before and I’d love to make a blanket of the same size with it! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

