German Chocolate Cake

A few years ago, when we were newly married and had just moved in to our first home together hubby baked me a birthday cake. Looking back, it was my first homemade birthday cake in quite a few years. He literally stayed up all night to make it for me, it was a German chocolate cake. Not a German recipe for chocolate cake, the cake was apparently named after a brand of chocolate. The cake he made was delicious and shared with my family on the night of my birthday.  German chocolate cake has a specific frosting – a pecan and coconut frosting made with evaporated milk and egg yolks.

The recipe I used today is from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking. I’m yet to find a recipe I don’t like in either of the two Baked cookbooks (New Frontiers in Baking and Baked Explorations). Could be because I keep choosing to make the chocolate recipes? I made one substitution today – I used regular pain flour instead of cake flour as my local supermarket didn’t have it in stock. I read somewhere you should subtract two tablespoons of plain flour for each cup used when making this substitution. Of course, I read this after I’d made the cake. The crumb is so soft, almost too soft. I wonder if this is due to the flour, I’ll have to pick up some cake flour and try it again. Sweetapolita did an interesting post on types of flour recently.

I still have the original recipe hubby used, written on the back of two envelopes. Me, sentimental?

Click here for German chocolate cake recipe
Click here for the Baked: New Frontiers in Baking cookbook

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katieskitchen.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/german-chocolate-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Katie,
    Happy New Year. I really enjoy getting your blog and finding out what you are cooking, baking, sewing or what project you have when you crochet. I may be missing one or two other talents that you have.

    I have a question for you. I am having a few friends for dinner and it happens to fall on Australia Day. So I thought that I should prepare some food that reminds everyone of Australia. Lamb and pavlova, of course, comes to mind, but I thought maybe you had some suggestions for me.

    If you have time and can send me your thoughts, I would love that.

    Everyone here in cold Ct. sends warmest regards to all.

    best
    Francine

    • Hi Francine,
      Thanks for reading! I will email you tonight.
      ~K


Leave a Reply

